Musical offerings

OMJCC / National JCC Adult & Senior Alliance

Songs & Stories: Spanish Classics! 

Wednesday, October 20 

1-2pm (PT), 2-3pm (MT), 3-4pm (CT), 4-5pm (ET) 

on Zoom 

For details & tickets, click here


Exploring Opera: Paris’ Opera Houses & Premieres 

Three Thursdays, November 4, 11 & 18 

4-5:30pm (ET) 

on Zoom 

During the 19th century, Paris was known as the cultural capital of Europe, due in large part to its many opera houses & theaters. In this special mini-series, join James Sokol to learn about and enjoy highlights of selected works that premiered at some of the city’s most important theaters. 

  • The Opera de Paris (Nov 4) 
  • The Opera Comique (Nov 11) 
  • The Théâtre Lyrique & the Théâtre-Italien (Nov 18) 

This special mini-series is filled with glorious arias, fabulous singers, and gorgeous music; a great series for opera newcomers & the long-time fans.  Come for the songs; stay for the fun! 

 For details & tickets, click here


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Exploring Broadway: Fabulous “Fiddler” on Thursday, September 9th from  4-5:15 pm (ET) 

Sheldon Harnick and Jerry Bock’s beloved Fiddler on the Roof is widely considered the last of Broadway’s “Golden Age” musicals. Before its premiere, some producers were concerned that it was "too Jewish" to attract mainstream audiences. However, the touching story and beautiful score proved to capture “the essential human longings for love, community, success, freedom, and family.” Join instructor James Sokol for a one-time exploration – filled with interesting facts, delightful tidbits & nostalgic video clips – of this perennial favorite!  For details & tickets, click here. Please select that you learned about this program from the Schenectady JCC. (See picture below.)

 

 

PLEASE SUPPORT OUR SPONSORS
Salmon Law Firm
Eastern Heating
Hill & Markes
usbmemorydirect
Chamber
M&T Bank
Freihofer Baking Company
Golub Foundation
Nigro Companies
Cool Insurance
The Jewish Federation